Hellooooooooo *tap tap*

So I’m starting this blog for a couple of reasons.  Go lists!

  1. To somewhat keep people back home updated on what I’m doing as I take off to college.  Just in case anyone misses me.  Unlikely, but you never know.  I like to be prepared, you know?
  2. To remind myself to look at the little details in life that are pretty neat when you get down to it.  Easy to gloss over, yes?

See what I did there?  There are two reasons.  If there had been three, I would have said “a few reasons.”  If there had been more than that, I probably would have used “several” or maybe “multiple.”  If there had been a gazillion, I would have used “myriad,” and this post would have been insanely LONG instead of just insanely tedious… Apologies.

If you read my “About” page, you’ll see I’m easily entertained.  I see nothing wrong with getting excited about really (I mean really) random stuff.  Sorry if you’re one of those uptight people who only get excited about really fantastic things.

Another thing you should know is that I have a myriad of interests.  (see that?  gazillions.)  You can expect to see a lot of unrelated things on here.  Probably a lot of sciency-mathy stuff for the moment, as I’ll be in gen chem this semester and I enjoy that.  Also I’m a mechanical engineering major, so that’s just kinda my thing.  However I used to write and draw and that may crop up.  Plus I’m something of a photographer and I play a lot of instruments.

It really doesn’t have to be complicated.  If I run into something I like, I’ll post it.  If I’m thinking about something short and easy to explain, I’ll post it.  If I’m thinking about something difficult and involved, too bad for you, I might post that too.  Hey, nobody’s twisting your arm to read it!

Anyways.  *awkward turtle*  That’s awesome!

– – – – –

ETA: Because it amuses me: “usage – Recent criticism of the use of myriad as a noun, both in the plural form myriads and in the phrase a myriad of, seems to reflect a mistaken belief that the word was originally and is still properly only an adjective. As the entries here show, however, the noun is in fact the older form, dating to the 16th century. The noun myriad has appeared in the works of such writers as Milton (plural myriads) and Thoreau (a myriad of), and it continues to occur frequently in reputable English. There is no reason to avoid it.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

