“I’m miles from where you are…”

Had a long day yesterday and a short day today.  Only have some tedious homework left to do… I’ll put that off a little longer and then do it… early.  Haha.  But if I don’t stay on top of things now, they’ll pile up on top of me later!  There is no rest for the wicked!  Come October things will be crazy, so this easier week is not going to be taken for granted!

I really do love it here.  I love the coffeeshop.  I love spending a long time on its porch with roommates and friends listening to new music and reading a classic book because it’s my day off honors reading.  Life at the Bottom by Theodore Dalrymple.  Yes, finally getting around to reading it, highlighter in hand (thanks, cowboy, you have converted me!) and quoting it to people who have no idea what I’m talking about…  It’s awesome!  For example: “The prisoner’s public presentation of himself often takes on a curious resemblance to the portrayal of him by liberals.  ‘You want me to be a victim of circumstance?’ he seems to say.  ‘All right, I’ll be a victim for you.'”  Good book.

And my job on campus is going to be fun!  I’m being “thrown into the deep water” as Dr. P says, but that’s way better than having to check spreadsheets against chem supplies like SOMEone I know…

Turns out I’m kinda exceedingly busy, between homework, classes, and hanging out with friends.  Busy is good, for the first time in my life.  I’m liking it.

 

[song: Set Fire to the Third Bar, Snow Patrol]

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

